Tenants · Rental furniture
Rental Furniture
a neutral comparisonThe furniture-rental companies and furniture-pack suppliers a London tenant or landlord can actually use, with the prices, minimum terms and delivery times each one publishes, read on 18 September 2026. If you have taken an unfurnished flat and need somewhere to sleep this week, start here. We take no commission from any of them.
Start here
More London flats are coming to market unfurnished, and a tenant who signs for one on a Tuesday can find themselves sleeping on the floor by the weekend. The answer most people reach for is a short-term furniture rental: a package delivered in a day or two, kept for a few months, then collected once their own furniture arrives. It works, but the advertised monthly price is rarely the price you pay. This page sets out what each company actually publishes, so you can decide with the same facts we have.
Nothing here is a recommendation and nothing is required. We have no arrangement with any supplier on this page, we earn nothing if you use one, and the law says a landlord cannot make a furniture contract a condition of your tenancy. The suppliers are listed because we could verify them, not because we prefer them.
Section 01
Three ways to furnish a flat
The right route depends on how long you are staying and how fast you need a bed. The bands below are the ones the suppliers themselves price by. One-bed figures, as published on 18 September 2026.
| Route | Who it suits | What a one-bed costs | What to watch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Short term, one to three months | A fast move, a relocation, the first months before your own furniture arrives | Rental. Instant Home's standard package is £290.40 a month including VAT but carries a £1,740 minimum spend. Roomservice by CORT quotes, with a £750 plus VAT minimum spend and £300 plus VAT for delivery and collection. Homebound advertises fully furnished from £195 a month plus £118 for delivery and collection. | The minimum spend, the delivery and collection charge, the damage waiver |
| Medium term, six to twelve months | A year in London, a contract, a course | Rental at a lower monthly rate on a longer term, where the supplier offers one, or a pack bought outright from £1,150 plus VAT | Whether the monthly rate really falls, the buy-out terms, the notice needed for collection |
| Long term, a year and beyond | Staying | Your own furniture, or a pack bought once: £1,150 to £3,899 plus VAT for a one-bed from the suppliers below | It is yours to keep and yours to move. Tell your agent, so the inventory records it as yours. |
Section 02
Rental price plans, compared
Five companies rent furniture to London tenants on terms as short as a month. Two publish a one-bed price. Here is what each one says on its own site, read on 18 September 2026. "Quote only" means the price is not published.
| Supplier | One-bed package and price | Minimum term and spend | Paid up front | Delivery in London | Who can rent | At the end |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Instant Home | Standard £290.40 a month including VAT: sofa, coffee table, dining table and four chairs, 4ft 6in divan set, two bedsides, chest. Premium £646.75 a month including VAT. | As little as one day, but the whole hire must total at least £1,740 including VAT and eight items | One month's rent plus the delivery and collection charge, which is not published. A hire under three months is paid in full before delivery. | Often within 24 hours of a signed contract, after identity and credit checks | Tenants and landlords | Dilapidation deposit; normal wear and tear accepted; the items are insured at no charge |
| Roomservice by CORT | Quote only | One month, then rolling, up to 36 months; at least £750 plus VAT over the initial term | One month's rent plus one month's refundable deposit, plus delivery and collection (£300 plus VAT within 100 miles of Chessington) and any installation, subject to credit checks | As little as 48 hours; a landlord's pack typically within a week of signing | Landlord or tenant; either can pay | A damage waiver is added to each month's rental unless your own insurer names them; no automatic right to buy |
| Homebound | Fully furnished from £195 a month; a bedroom from £78 a month on a 24-month term; the longer the term, the lower the monthly price | Minimum term not stated on the site; no minimum order value | Delivery and collection £118; installation quoted separately | Aims to deliver within two weeks | Individuals, landlords and developers; FCA-regulated consumer hire | Deposit refunded if the items come back in good condition; options to buy, terms apply |
| Bradbeers | Bedroom packs from £104.53 a month plus VAT; living-room packs from £118.91 plus VAT. The site does not say which term the displayed prices belong to. | One month; will discuss shorter | Delivery charged, quoted | Quoted | Not stated | Not stated |
| Fully Furnished | Quote only; solid oak ranges | One month; no deposit | Delivery charged | 48 hours, mainland UK | Tenants, landlords, relocation agents, HR departments, serviced apartments | Collection is free, or you can buy any of the items |
The two published one-bed prices sit close together on the month and far apart on the minimum. Ask every supplier the same question before anything else: what is the total for my exact dates, delivered and collected?
Section 03
Three months, worked
The short-term package is a bridge: rent for the weeks you need, then buy what you will keep. Here is what the bridge costs against buying outright, on the suppliers' published figures.
| Route | One-bed, three months | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Rent: Instant Home standard package | £871.20 at the monthly rate, billed at not less than £1,740 including VAT because of the minimum spend, plus delivery and collection | You pay for the equivalent of six months |
| Rent: Roomservice by CORT | At least £1,050 plus VAT, being the £750 minimum spend and the £300 delivery and collection charge, plus the damage waiver | The monthly rate itself is quoted, so the total may be higher |
| Rent: Homebound | Three months at the rate they quote you, plus £118 delivery and collection | The "from £195" is a longer-term figure; ask for the three-month rate |
| Buy: Lets Furnish London, Hyde pack | £1,150 plus VAT, to keep | Divan and headboard, two bedsides, chest, wardrobe, three-seater sofa, coffee table, dining table and four chairs |
| Buy: Landlord Furniture Packages, Camden pack | £2,310 plus VAT, to keep | Delivered and installed within two to three days, subject to stock |
| Buy: Base Furnishings, Express Living | £2,634 including VAT, to keep | As short as 48 hours inside the M25 |
Renting wins when you will be gone in a few months, when you cannot wait for a delivery slot, or when you do not want to own and later dispose of a sofa. Buying wins once you are staying past about five months. Buying your own furniture wins outright if you are staying a year or more: it is yours, you chose it, and it comes with you.
Section 04
Furniture packs to buy
Landlords buy these, and so do tenants who are staying. Five suppliers publish a one-bed price and deliver to London. Prices as published on 18 September 2026; VAT as each supplier states it.
| Supplier | One-bed pack | Two-bed pack | What is in it, and extras | Delivery and installation | Who they sell to |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lets Furnish London, Hounslow | Hyde £1,150; Regents £1,485; St James £1,950, all plus VAT | Hyde £1,600; Regents £2,250; St James £3,120, plus VAT | Hyde: 4ft 6in divan and headboard, two bedsides, chest, wardrobe, three-seater sofa, coffee table, dining table and four chairs. Kitchen pack £139, bedroom pack £199. | Dispatched in one to three working days; free next-day delivery within five miles of TW4; London delivery calculated at checkout; assembly not stated | Landlords, agents, developers |
| Landlord Furniture Packages (Sublime Furnishings), EC1 | Camden £2,310 plus VAT | Camden £2,970 plus VAT | Add-ons plus VAT: bedroom £165, kitchen £280, electrical £280, decor £175, bathroom £65. One-year defect guarantee. | Delivered and installed within two to three days, subject to stock and location; delivery, assembly and installation free within 50 miles of London | Landlords, agents, build-to-rent, HMO |
| Base Furnishings, Ealing | Express Living £2,634 including VAT (£2,195 before VAT) | £4,176 including VAT | Three-bed £5,352 including VAT; finance leasing offered, terms not published | Lead times as short as 48 hours inside London and the M25; delivery and installation free inside the M25 on orders over £360 including VAT | Buy-to-let landlords, agents, build-to-rent |
| LOFT, Manchester | Silver from £2,400; Gold £2,885; Platinum £3,325, excluding VAT and delivery | Not stated | Complete property package: sofa, armchair, coffee table, media unit, dining table and two chairs, double bed and mattress, two bedsides, chest, wardrobe | Next-day delivery from Manchester; three to four days for bespoke orders; installation and recycling offered | Landlords, build-to-rent, HMO, student |
| In:Style Direct, London | Investor one-bed £3,899 plus VAT; studio £3,395; Manhattan £3,595 | £4,999 plus VAT | Diamond range from £5,995 plus VAT; extras plus VAT: linen £190, bathroom £80, electrical £140, kitchen £280 | Completion in 24 to 48 hours, based on stock; free delivery; installation by their own team | Landlords, agents, developers, overseas owners |
A budget tier exists for houses in multiple occupation and student lets, led by Fusion Furniture Solutions, Landlord Furniture Co and Furnishing Packs. Their prices are on request or priced per bedroom rather than per flat, so we have not tabled them here.
Section 05
The rules: offered, never required
Section 1(3) of the Tenant Fees Act 2019 says a landlord must not require a tenant to enter into a contract with a third party in connection with the tenancy if that contract is for the provision of a service or a contract of insurance. Section 1(4) excepts only a utility and a communication service. A furniture rental agreement is a service contract. It can be offered to you, explained to you and arranged for you. It cannot be a condition of getting, keeping or renewing the tenancy, and a "requirement" includes anything demanded in consideration of the grant, renewal or continuance of a tenancy. We won't make a furniture package a condition of any tenancy we let. Our tenant fees schedule lists everything we can lawfully ask you to pay.
If you rent or buy furniture for a flat you are renting, it is yours, not the landlord's. Tell your agent what you have brought in so the check-in report records it as yours, and check your tenancy agreement before you fix anything to a wall.
For landlords, two facts. The first set of furniture you buy for a let is capital: HMRC's replacement of domestic items relief allows a deduction for replacing an item already provided, never for the first purchase (Property Income Manual PIM3210). Whether monthly hire charges are deductible turns on the general rule that an expense must be incurred wholly and exclusively for the business and not be capital (PIM2005 and PIM2010); HMRC's manual does not say so in terms, so ask your accountant before you plan around it. The wider question of whether to furnish a new-build at all is in our post on whether new-build landlords should stop furnishing.
Section 06
What tenants tell us
Three things we see across our own lettings. Relocation agents acting for larger employers often supply a furniture package for the first three months, and the tenant then buys their own. At one Canary Wharf development we manage, the employer is renting the furniture and the tenant will buy their own after that; asked whether they were happy with the arrangement, the tenant said they preferred it, and the relocation agent called it a good solution.
Second, tenants in premium homes tell us they would rather not use furniture other tenants have used, and like to choose their own. Third, students do not mind used furniture, and a rental package or a second-hand set suits a nine-month stay. The pattern is the same each time: the package is a bridge, not a way of living.
Section 07
What to check before you sign
| Ask | Why it matters |
|---|---|
| What is the total for my exact dates, delivered and collected? | The minimum spend, not the minimum term, decides what three months costs |
| What do delivery and collection cost, each way? | Some charge both ways, some quote, one publishes a single fee |
| Is there a damage waiver or insurance, and who pays it? | Instant Home insures its items at no charge; CORT adds a monthly waiver unless your insurer names them |
| How much is the deposit, and what does "good condition" mean on return? | Normal wear and tear should be accepted; ask what is not |
| Can I buy the items at the end, and how much notice does collection need? | Fully Furnished and Homebound offer a purchase route; CORT gives no automatic right to buy |
| Will you confirm the term, the rate and every charge in writing before delivery? | The price you read today may not be the price you are billed next month |
Section 08
Who is no longer trading
Search for furniture rental in London and you will still find old names. David Phillips, for years the best-known landlord furniture supplier, had joint administrators appointed on 15 July 2025 and its websites no longer work; Companies House showed the furniture company in administration on 18 September 2026. Harth, an earlier London rental start-up, has no live website or company we could find. John Lewis's furniture-rental trial ran through Fat Llama, which became Hygglo in November 2025, and the John Lewis page is now empty. IKEA does not offer furniture rental in the UK. We list these so you do not lose a morning to a dead link.
Common questions
Rental furniture, answered.
Can I rent furniture for a flat in London for three months?
Yes. Instant Home, Roomservice by CORT, Homebound, Bradbeers and Fully Furnished all rent on terms as short as a month, and three deliver inside 48 hours. Check the minimum spend, not just the term: Instant Home's hire must total at least £1,740 including VAT, and CORT's initial term at least £750 plus VAT plus delivery.
How much does a one-bed rental furniture package cost?
As shown on 18 September 2026: Instant Home's standard one-bed package is £290.40 a month including VAT and its premium package £646.75; Homebound advertises fully furnished from £195 a month with lower rates on longer terms; Bradbeers lists bedroom packs from £104.53 plus VAT. CORT and Fully Furnished quote rather than publish prices.
Is it cheaper to rent furniture for three months or to buy a pack?
Often buying. Three months at Instant Home's monthly rate would be £871.20, but its £1,740 minimum spend applies. The cheapest one-bed pack we found, Lets Furnish London's Hyde pack, is £1,150 plus VAT to own. Renting wins for a short stay or a fast move; buying wins once you stay past about five months.
Can my landlord make me rent furniture as part of the tenancy?
No. Section 1(3) of the Tenant Fees Act 2019 stops a landlord requiring a tenant to enter a contract with a third party for a service, and only utilities and communication services are excepted. A furniture package can be offered and arranged for you, but it cannot be a condition of getting or keeping the tenancy.
How fast can rental furniture be delivered in London?
Instant Home says it often installs within 24 hours of a signed contract once identity and credit checks are done. Roomservice by CORT says as little as 48 hours, and Fully Furnished 48 hours across mainland UK. Homebound aims to deliver within two weeks. Furniture packs to buy arrive in one to three days from most London suppliers.
Is David Phillips still trading?
No. David Phillips Furniture Group had joint administrators appointed on 15 July 2025 and its websites no longer work; Companies House showed the furniture company in administration on 18 September 2026. Harth has no live company we could find, John Lewis's rental trial ended when Fat Llama became Hygglo, and IKEA does not rent furniture in the UK.
Section 09
Sources and dates
Every supplier page and statute on this page was read on 18 September 2026. Prices, terms and delivery promises are the suppliers' own and change without notice; where a supplier's page does not state something, the table says so rather than guessing. We re-check this page each quarter, next on 18 December 2026. Suppliers: Instant Home (instanthome.co.uk); Roomservice by CORT (roomservicebycort.com); Homebound (homebound.co.uk); Bradbeers (furniturerental.co.uk); Fully Furnished (fullyfurnished.com); Lets Furnish London (lets-furnish.co.uk); Landlord Furniture Packages (landlordfurniturepackages.co.uk); Base Furnishings (basefurnishings.co.uk); LOFT (loft.co.uk); In:Style Direct (instyledirect.com). Law and tax: Tenant Fees Act 2019 s.1 (legislation.gov.uk, point in time 1 May 2026); HMRC Property Income Manual PIM2005, PIM2010 and PIM3210. Company status: Companies House and Serviced Apartment News, 10 July 2025. Harvey W James has no commercial arrangement with any supplier named and takes no commission or referral fee.
Next step
Find the flat first.
Our current list of homes to rent is live, furnished and unfurnished alike. If you already have the keys and need furniture this week, the tables above are the whole of what we know, and James can answer questions any hour, in your language.
